About the Man

About the Foundation

Editorial Cartoons


Educator's Pages

Traveling Exhibits


Federal Duck Stamp

Ding Darling National
Wildlife Refuge


Darling drew through the terms of eight different presidents. Although he tailored his cartoons to the personality, character, and legislative goals of each individual president, he took a common approach to all. First, he gave each man a fair start. Second, he attempted to draw cartoons showing both sides of any significant debate. Lastly, when any president died, whether in office or afterward, Darling attempted to pay tribute to the man's best qualities.

Roosevelt, Theodore, 1919
Taft, 1920
Wilson, 1915
Harding, 1920
Presidency (Pulitzer Prize), 1923
Coolidge, 1925
Hoover, 1929
Roosevelt, Franklin, 1938
Truman, 1945

The Darling Foundation's CD-ROM containing over 6,800 of "Ding" Darling's editorial cartoons produces over 1,300 "hits" when searching for presidents. More Information on the Foundation's CD-ROM.

                                                                                         Copyright © 2000, J. N. "Ding" Darling Foundation. All rights reserved.